Specialised Disability Accommodation

NDIS Specialist Disability Accommodation in West & North Melbourne

Living with a disability can be difficult. Moreover, finding a home that adequately meets all your support needs can be a strenuous task. This can impact the ability of participants to take care of themselves and perform daily tasks. Going out into the community and participating in activities that you enjoy can also be challenging.

On the other hand, adequate housing can enable individuals with disabilities to live comfortably so as to enjoy life to the fullest. To provide this opportunity to all Australians living with a disability, NDIS offers eligible participants funds for Special Disability Accommodation (SDA) and Assisted Independent Living (SIL).

What is NDIS specialist disability accommodation?

NDIS Specialist Disability Accommodation is a provision that allows people with very high support needs to live comfortably and provide them with daily support. These can be shared assisted living units, community living units, or freestanding houses that are constructed in a way that caters to the needs of individuals with disability. Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) is not the same as Supported Independent Living (SIL). While SDA provides accommodation that eases the lives of NDIS participants, SDA refers to the support services participants receive to help them live independently.

What does living in Specialist Disability Accommodation entail?

An SDA home is constructed to suit the requirements of a person with disabilities. This living arrangement facilitates maximum independent movement for the participant. It helps ensure the disabled person gets to have normal living circumstances. The accommodation can be a townhouse, villa, or duplex, or even a group home.

Specialised Disability Accommodation

Features such as improved orientation and wheelchair access provides physical accessibility for people with high support needs. The accommodation is constructed from impact-resistant materials to ensure the resident’s safety.

How the funding is allocated for NDIS Specialist Disability Accommodation used?

NDIS divides assisted living funds in two separate categories: Specialised Disability Accommodation and Supported Independent Living. These two categories help participants get the most out of their NDIS plan crafted for their needs.

What are the different levels of NDIS Specialist Disability Accommodation?

Depending on the type and degree of support required by each participant, NDIS funding provides 5 different types of SDA:

  • Basic
  • Improved Liveability Housing
  • Fully Accessible Housing